Blog New Website Header (6) (1)

Meet Nip

Friday, 31 March


My name is Nipunika Kalupahana, I grew up in Sri Lanka and the eldest child in my family. I was always surrounded with lots of loving cousins and family members. Going on family trips, dancing and sharing books with my cousins were my favourite parts of my childhood. Going to the beaches, climbing waterfalls, spending time in nature and trying different cuisines were part of our family trips and I love revisiting these places when I am in Sri Lanka during my holidays.

I was very active during my school life and my mother always encouraged me to participate in different activities. I was lucky enough to hold many positions in various societies; like the drama and dancing club, the school debating team or being president of my school's cultural association; which helped me immensely to build up my confidence and organisation skills.

When I was growing up, I loved going to the theatre and watching stage dramas with my family and my dad always encouraged me to watch different genre drama and theatre shows. I was fortunate to watched “Lion King” at Lyceum in London with my parents and it was the best experience of my life. I am so excited to be part of Live & Local, to develop my understanding and to encourage communities to be part of fantastic arts projects.

What was your favourite live event or a memorable live event that you attended? 

The Lion King at Lyceum London.

What is a positive that you’re taking away from the past two years?

A positive thing I would like to take away is life is all about trying our best. It's okay to fail and not feel great at times - you are allowed to feel that way. Always be kind to yourself and others around you.

What are your favourite aspects of rural life?

Being able to live so close to nature, surrounded by soft sounds and away from noise, traffic and pollution are the biggest advantages of rural life.

What do you enjoy most about working in the arts?

I enjoy supporting vibrant communities and reducing social isolation which gives me a high level of job satisfaction. It's also great for mental wellbeing and a lovely way to engage with people from different communities.


When you were younger, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be a doctor when I grew up and help people to feel better and happy.

What is your all-time favourite song/band and book?

Any upbeat music that will make me dance. I like 'Girl on Fire'. My favourite band is The Beatles and my favourite book is 'The Alchemist' by Paulo Coelho. 

What are your hobbies?

Embroidery, reading, dancing, gardening, and watching movies.

Do you speak any other languages?

I can speak Sinhalese.


This or that?

  • Cats or dogs? Dogs
  • Tea or coffee? Tea
  • Cheese or chocolate? Chocolate
  • Beach or mountains? Beach
  • Paper book or e-book? Paper Book
  • Winter or summer? Summer
  • Pop or rock? Pop
  • Morning person or night owl? Night owl
  • Sweet or salty? Sweet
  • Driver or passenger? Both
  • Spender or saver? Spender
  • Starter or dessert? Dessert
  • Sun or snow? Sun

More recent posts

All posts

Join our mailing list